early Year Home Banner

Nutrition

Requirements re: food and drink

Meals and feeding for infants or for children with special dietary or feeding arrangements are to be carried out in accordance with the written instructions of a parent of the child.

All food or drink must be stored and served so as to retain maximum nutritive value and prevent contamination.

Contact your local Public Health Unit for more information on food handling and storage practices.

Parent-supplied food and/or drink must be labelled with the child's name.

Child care centres are required to provide a prepared lunch for every child one year or older who is present at meal time, unless otherwise approved by a ministry director in the case of kindergarten groups or older. If a child receives care for six hours or more, they must be provided with two snacks in addition to any meals provided. All meals, snacks, and beverages provided must meet requirements set out in Health Canada documents “Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide”, “Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide – First Nations, Inuit, and Metis” or “Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants” where applicable.

Drinking water must be available at all times.

Post planned menus in a place that is visible to parents for the current and following week. Any substitutions must be noted on the posted menus. Menus must be kept for 30 days after the last day for which they are applicable.

In the cooking and serving areas, in each play area or play room and in any other area in which children may be present post a list of all children enrolled who have allergies and restrictions and their respective allergies and restrictions.

Kitchen with posted menu highlighted

REGULATION

Sections 42 and 43 of Ontario Regulation 137/15 - General

SAMPLE FORMS

List of Allergies and Intolerances

CONNECTIONS TO HOW DOES LEARNING HAPPEN?

In addition to the health and nutritional importance of meal and snack times, consider ways to capitalize on these times as an opportunity for making connections with children and building relationships.

  • How can your program support children’s sense of belonging, well-being, engagement and expression at meal and snack times?
  • How can your program provide a flexible context that respects children’s choices and needs?
  • How can mealtime encourage children’s sense of competence and independence?
  • How can your program support children’s ability to self-regulate and make healthy food choices?

Early Year Home Banner

Alimentation

Exigences relatives aux aliments et aux boissons

Les poupons et les enfants visés par des dispositions spéciales d’ordre diététique et alimentaire doivent être nourris conformément aux instructions écrites d’un parent de l’enfant.

Tous les aliments et les boissons doivent être conservés et servis de manière à conserver le maximum de valeur nutritive et à prévenir la contamination.

Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de santé publique de votre région pour en savoir plus sur la manipulation et les pratiques d’entreposage des aliments.

Les aliments et les boissons fournis par un parent doivent porter une étiquette indiquant le nom de l’enfant.

Les centres de garde doivent offrir un dîner préparé à chaque enfant âgé de un an et plus qui est présent à l’heure du repas, sauf dérogation approuvée par un directeur du ministère dans le cas de groupes d’enfants de jardin d’enfants ou d’enfants plus âgés. Si un enfant bénéficie de services de garde durant six heures ou plus, il doit recevoir deux collations en plus de tout repas servi. Tous les repas, collations et boissons fournis doivent respecter les exigences énoncées dans les documents de Santé Canada intitulés « Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien », « Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien – Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis » ou « La nutrition du nourrisson né à terme et en santé » selon le cas.

De l’eau potable doit être disponible en tout temps.

Il faut afficher les menus prévus pour la semaine en cours et pour la semaine suivante dans un endroit à la vue des parents et y indiquer toute substitution. Les menus doivent être conservés pendant 30 jours après la fin de la période visée.

À chaque endroit où sont préparés ou servis des aliments, dans chaque aire ou salle de jeux et à tout autre endroit où des enfants peuvent être présents, affichez la liste de tous les enfants inscrits qui ont des allergies ou des restrictions, de même que la nature de leurs allergies ou restrictions respectives.

Cuisine avec menu affiché surligné

RÈGLEMENT

Articles 42 et 43 du Règlement de l’Ontario 137/15 (Dispositions générales)

EXEMPLES DE FORMULAIRES

Liste d’allergies et d’intolérances

LIENS AVEC COMMENT APPREND-ON?

Les repas et les collations sont importants sur les plans de la santé et de l’alimentation : pensez à des façons de tirer profit de l’heure des repas et des collations pour tisser des liens et bâtir des relations avec les enfants.

  • Comment votre programme favorise-t-il le sentiment d’appartenance, le bien-être, la participation et l’expression à l’heure des repas et des collations?
  • Comment votre programme peut-il offrir un milieu flexible qui respecte les choix et les besoins des enfants?
  • Comment l’heure du repas peut-elle favoriser le sentiment de compétence et d’indépendance chez les enfants?
  • Comment votre programme soutient-il la capacité des enfants de s’autoréguler et de faire des choix alimentaires sains?